Velveteen

This morning’s light was velveteen

In spite of last night’s troubles

Every street light peered through blinds

To illuminate dream lovers

Spare her the rhetoric she’s

World weary now, she could

Do with some silence

Instead of that sound

Barking everyone knows

It’s this way not that

While all the truly curious are

Killed by the cat

Whose paws are

Velveteen

In spite of all his troubles

Every night he peers through blinds

To spy on lamp-lit lovers

Dream lover come rescue me

Take me up take me down take me home

I’m not afraid of silence

But I don’t wanna be alone

I wanna be

Velveteen

In spite of all our troubles

Velveteen

Like all those other lovers

Leave a Reply

